The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo, The Girl who Played with Fire, The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest

Normally I would not read a book classified within the thriller genre. However, the mystery behind the Author’s unexpected death after dropping off the manuscripts for the series and all the hype generated around the books led me to purchase the first two, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and The Girl who Played with Fire. I started reading the first book, got about 100 pages in, and then laid it aside; needless to say, it was slow-moving.

When The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (US) movie came out I went to see it and found the motivation to go back and pick up from where I left off in the book. In my opinion, the movie was much more graphic than the descriptions in the novel, which I was thankful for because the circumstances Lisbeth Salandar and Mikael Blomkvist endure during their investigation are gruesome.

Once I finished The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, I immediately dived into the second book, The Girl who Played with Fire. I could not put this book down! Although the two main characters are not in contact with one another for the majority of the book, the unveiling of Lisbeth’s past and the trouble she finds herself in at present bring about another mind-boggling mystery that hooks the reader. Needless to say, my guess as to how Lisbeth and “Zala” were connected was nowhere near the actual relationship between the two.

Now that Lisbeth’s mysterious past is laid out on the table, I cannot wait to read the final installment of the trilogy, The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest to find out how Salander will get justice for all of the wrongs committed against her.

If you have been contemplating reading this series, I would highly recommend it. If you have already read the series, feel free to add what you liked or disliked!

P.S. Stieg Larsson was supposed to have a series of 10 novels but due to his sudden death, only three of the ten intended novels were published. For more information on Stieg Larsson, visit http://www.stieglarsson.com/

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

