Stars and Stripes

Happy 4th of July everyone!

For those of you who decided to show your patriotism today, I salute you. I opted to skip the “flag apparel” (which by the way, violates eight of the U.S. Flag code) and instead created a red, white, and blue outfit, sans the stars and stripes.

earrings: Banana Republic, tank top: H&M, belt: forever 21, skirt: BCBGMaxazria, shoes: Steve Madden

Instead, I opted for a classier take on the iconic American symbol; by pairing a navy tank top, a navy/white striped belt, and a red skirt I was able to showcase my patriotic side in a more sophisticated way. I paired a neutral wedge to the leather on the belt and chose a pair of silver geometric earrings because I didn’t want my accessories to take away from the overall statement of the outfit.

so there were still a few stripes…

Sure, I could have thrown on a pair of cutoff jean shorts and a red tank top, but this outfit was just as easy to put together and might have been even more comfortable in the heat (it was 106 today…phew). Hopefully my outfit will inspire you to show off your support for the U.S. as well.

Even though the fireworks got cancelled due to the draught, my outfit still went out with a bang on this 4th of July.

p.s. that’s my golden retriever, Mia with me in the pictures

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion

One response to “Stars and Stripes

  1. Pingback: Pretty, Pretty Pleats | black&whiteworld

Leave a Reply

