Summer Reading List

This summer has been super busy with job hunting, starting my own business with Arbonne, and wedding planning. During my down time, I have managed to stay sane by getting lost in a good book. Even though my reading list is continuously growing I have managed to cross a few off my list.

The last book I read was recommended to me by my mom. Winter Garden, by Kristin Hannah, was an amazing “fairytale” brought to life. Winter Garden follows the life of three women: Anya, a russian mother who has kept her daughter’s further than arm’s length their whole life, Meredith, the oldest daughter who has found success taking over the family business but is failing in her marriage, and Nina, the youngest daughter, who has travelled all over the world photographing women, trying to find in strangers answers only her mother can provide.

Image

After their father’s death, Meredith and Nina hold onto the promise they made their father, to get to know their mother, even if it is an unattainable task. Nina’s persistence (more like pestering) in getting her mother to tell the girls the fairytale they grew up with, and shattered their childhood, takes an unexpected turn; the story they know by starts off as the same fiction, but slowly reveals the dark secrets of their mother’s past life in Russia.

As you read along with Anya’s fairytale, the images of Stalin’s rule over Russia takes form. Both Meredith and Nina, along with the reader discover why Anya has kept her distance from her daughters, why Anya’s winter garden is so sacred, and how after so many years of bitterness, three women can find forgiveness in themselves and others. Winter Garden radiates what it means to forgive, to accept, and that it is never too late to learn how to love.

I would definitely recommend reading Winter Garden. I am excited that my mom introduced me to a new author and I can’t wait to get my hands on Kristin Hannah’s other novels.

However, Kristin Hannah’s novels will have to wait because the next three reads on my reading list include: Rapture, by Lauren Kate (the 4th and final book of the Fallen Series), Cleoptra: A Life by Stacy Schiff, and of course the series every girl is buzzing about, Fifty Shades of Grey, by E L James.

Image         ImageImage

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

