Wedding Attire: Rules to Live By

The months from May-late October are known as “wedding season.” These months are often filled with excitement and celebration, however, they can also be filled with stress, especially if you don’t know what to wear or how to dress appropriately.

Fortunately, I have a few suggestions for you all to follow when putting your wedding attire together. Follow these rules and get inspired from my outfits for the next wedding you are planning to attend.

1. Unless the bride specifically states on the invitation that you can wear white, NEVER, EVER wear white to a wedding; even if the bride says ok, I still wouldn’t wear white because it is her day to shine.

2. Black will always be appropriate, no matter the season or venue. Since I am trying to broaden the color in my wardrobe, I opted for bright, colored dresses this wedding season. My advice when choosing a color is to always stay within the warm/cool color pallet depending on your skin tone. Since I have olive skin, I can get away with bright colors such as yellow.

August Wedding

Dress: Piperlime.com, belt: forever21, clutch: nine west, bracelets: express

My sister- Dress: Franchescas, shoes: american eagle outifitters, necklace: borrowed from my mom
On Me- dress: piperlime.com, belt: forever21, clutch: nine west, bracelets: express, shoes, piperlime.com

My Uncle’s third wedding was a more casual occasion. Because my sister and I both chose such bright pallets, it was important to keep the accessories simple and classic; we both wore our hair down, keeping our head to toe look polished and simple.

3. Accessorize! I can’t say that enough–the key is to choose jewelry, shoes, and a bag that will up the ante of the dress. The simpler the dress, the more accessories you can wear. If your dress has embellishments on it such as sequins, a pattern, or sparkle, take the jewelry down a notch. The jewelry you wear also depends on where the embellishment is on the dress. If there are jewels around the neckline, go for statement earrings and a bracelet but skip a necklace so as not to distract from the dress. Again, depending on the simplicity or intricacy of the dress depends on the type of bag and shoes you pair with it; for a detailed or embellished dress, stick to a basic black or nude pump with a matching clutch. The simpler the dress, the crazier you can get with patterned or embellished shoes and purse.

 

September Wedding:

Dress: Modcloth.com, earrings: Franchescas, clutch: a gift from my grandmother, shoes: BCBGMaxazria

back of the dress

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For Brian’s cousin’s wedding, I chose a dress with a warm peach tone as a nice transition into fall. The weather that day was gorgeous (and warm) and the wedding took place outside, which was a perfect backdrop for such a lovely dress.Β As you can see, the neckline is embellished with crystals and sequins, so chandelier earrings were a perfect match to complete the jewelry; I wore my hair up in a pretty braided bun to showcase the neckline and the beautiful drop back of the dress. Strappy shoes and a flower and beaded clutch completed the look for an appropriate look for this wedding.

a closer look at the accessories

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion

Leave a Reply

