WWJOD: What Would Jackie O. Do?

It’s another #ModMonday – this time I’m stepping out in a classy ensemble inspired by fashion icon Jackie O. The former first lady set the stage for understated sexy, showing the world that you don’t have to bear it all to look like a lady.

If you find yourself questioning the integrity of an outfit, you may want to ask yourself, “WWJOD?” Take a cue and from the style icon and rock a shift dress or cropped pants for a sophisticated outfit. If you want to veer on the playful side, Jackie O. new a scarf and over-sized sunglasses added a bit of fun and mystery to any outfit. Don’t forget, you can never go wrong with a black and white ensemble – for a pop of color, try pastel shades in ladylike colors such as pink, yellow and mint.

Here is my take on “WWJOD”

Photo: Marsha Dorfman-Cairo © Model: Jenna Salak

Photo: Marsha Dorfman-Cairo ©
Model: Jenna Salak

You can’t ever go wrong in a sheath dress and peep toe heels. This taupe and black wrap dress was a steal from Modcloth (I bought last year for my internship). The shoes are Nine West, but I got them at a reduced price thanks to Marshalls!

Photo: Marsha Dorfman-Cairo © Model: Jenna Salak

Photo: Marsha Dorfman-Cairo ©
Model: Jenna Salak

Like I said, sunglasses and a scarf offer a demure way to transform your outfit. I draped a neutral colored scarf (T.J. Maxx) over the back of my shoulders for a little more coverage.

To complete the vintage-inspired look, I teased my hair at the crown before creating a deep-side part and fastening my hair into a low ponytail. Keep the rest of your beauty routine simple – create a cat-eye with your favorite black liquid liner and brush on two coats of black mascara to emphasize your eyes. A nude or pale pink lip is all you need to finish off this classic, modern beauty look.

Photo: Marsha Dorfman-Cairo © Model: Jenna Salak

Photo: Marsha Dorfman-Cairo ©
Model: Jenna Salak

Here’s a side view of the whole outfit. I love the way fashion lets you mix and match different elements from multiple vendors and price ranges to form a cohesive look. Some of the best outfits and styles are a combination of high-end pieces and bargain finds.

Just remember, if you’re ever in a time crunch and need to put together a fabulous outfit, ask yourself the golden rule, “WWJOD.”

Photo: Marsha Dorfman-Cairo © Model: Jenna Salak

Photo: Marsha Dorfman-Cairo ©
Model: Jenna Salak

4 Comments

Filed under Fashion

4 responses to “WWJOD: What Would Jackie O. Do?

  1. Jackie O is one of my style icons, so as soon as I saw that you wrote about her I HAD to click on it right away! I love her style and grace, she is the perfect person to try to emulate! Also those shoes are to die for! I think you need to wear them out to go get cocktails with me! ( :

Leave a Reply

