#NYFW Day 4: Best in Show

There were quite a few big names that debuted their Spring ’14 collections today. From sportswear god, DKNY to lady-like ensembles by Lela Rose and the lovely #DVF, it seems as though each and every waking minute of next years attire is only getting better by the minute! Some of my favorite collections from day 4 included:

Vivienne Tam
Until reviewing today’s collections, I had never come across a piece by Vivienne Tam. Now that I know who she is, and what her designs are about, I can now call myself a true fan!The first look from Tam’s collection was a coral gown featuring a one-shoulder top … let me tell you that anything coral (or turquoise for that matter) will always be a winner in my book! The rest of her Spring ’14 collection included paintbrush prints, florals and crisp white fabrics that were both structured yet free flowing (yes that’s possible). My top three picks include:

This A-line geometric printed dress, which appears to also mimic that of a paintbrush design. Whether you take a mathematical or artistic approach, the ready-to-wear dress is a winner. P.S. I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love a dress with pockets!

Vivienne Tam Spring 2014

Vivienne Tam Spring 2014

Remember how I mentioned Tam knows a thing or two about juxtaposing structure and fluidity, well this white crop top blouse and skirt are what I was referring to … the outfit says it all, plus the black and white floral print is an added bonus.

Vivienne Tam Spring 2014

Vivienne Tam Spring 2014

My third pick from Tam is this cool toned short-sleeve dress. I’m seeing a pattern over these last few posts as I continue to admire the way the designers are styling dresses with a collared shirt underneath with bold florals- I guess I’ll be adding both to my wardrobe next year!

Vivienne Tam Spring 2014

Vivienne Tam Spring 2014

Additional looks to love from Tam include:

Tracy Reese
I’ve heard of Reese designs before, but have never really taken the time to investigate the designer until today. I have to say that I was quite smitten with the Spring collection due to the designer’s ability to go back and forth between uber feminine looks and androgynous styling. Reese’s best in show designs (in my opinion) are:

This black and white mixed print ensemble. I’ve stated before that I am afraid of mixing different styled prints, however, the two-tone look seems to flow nicely from head (cue the top hat) to toe. Is it just me, or does this outfit have a circus ringleader vibe to it?

Tracey Reese Spring 2014

Tracy Reese Spring 2014

My second favorite ready-to-wear ensemble was this white poppy floral dress. I’m a sucker for V-necks (since I feel it helps enhance what little I have to work with up top) so this dress would work really well on my body type. The muted mauve undertone and sporadic pop of green are a definite do for Spring awakening.

Tracey Reese Spring 2014

Tracy Reese Spring 2014

Forgive me for including yet another outfit that was styled with a top hat, but I just couldn’t help myself! I really haven’t posted too many looks that included pants from #NYFW Spring 2014. All hats aside, I thought the details of the mesh paneled sweater and eyelet pants were quite interesting.

Tracey Reese Spring 2014

Tracy Reese Spring 2014

Other outfits from Reese’s ready-to-wear Spring ’14 collection include:

Lela Rose
I think the Spring ’14 collection from Lela Rose is the first thus far to incorporate pastels into the mix. This spring, shades of mint, pink and lavender were a huge hit and it looks like next spring we will be seeing a lot more soft shades as well, including shades of blue, grey and orange. My top three picks from Rose are:

This high-low sleeveless blouse and abstract print skirt – who knew you could do blue and orange without looking like a Chicago Bears sports fan?

Lela Rose Spring 2014

Lela Rose Spring 2014

This nude coat dress featuring a black belt and large lace floral appliques.

Lela Rose Spring 2014

Lela Rose Spring 2014

This geometric top and skrit really caught my eye while looking through the collection. I think the cut, pattern and style is very refreshing and unique, which is probably why I can’t stop thinking about it – who doesn’t love a good two piece outfit you can wear together or as separates!

Lela Rose Spring 2014

Lela Rose Spring 2014

More looks to love from Lela Rose include:

Diane Von Furstenberg
The initials DVF can make any woman giddy with delight, and Diane Von Furstenberg’s Spring ’14 collection is no exception! It’s plain and simple, this woman knows how to design, dress and style other women to give them exactly what they want i.e. a great outfit, timeless silhouettes and figure flattering attire that not only looks good on, but highlights a woman’s best assets. Splurge worthy items from DVF are:

This metallic gold and black dress. Wear it to dinner, a wedding then bring it out once more for New Years Eve (paired with black tights and booties). Now that I’ve given you three scenarios in which you can wear this dress, you should definitely add it to your closet come Spring – P.S. Naomi Campbell looks fierce!

DVF Spring 2014

DVF Spring 2014

A crop top and A-line skirt in a muted palette sounds kind of boring, but textured material and some killer sandals make the entire outfit a show stopper.

DVF Spring 2014

DVF Spring 2014

White on white is always a do, especially come Spring and Summer. Show off your sexy shoulders and decolletage with a deep-v neckline that draws the eye to your waist. Tie your belt for an effortless effect and finish the look with white trousers and multicolored sandals for an all white party look on the yacht (or in the Hamptons).

DVF Spring 2014

DVF Spring 2014

In addition to these standout pieces from DVF, I would also suggest purchasing these stellar outfits from her Spring ’14 collection as well:

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion

Leave a Reply

